“The God of My Salvation”

Habakkuk 3:17-18 (NKJV).

I find it interesting that three of the greatest confessions of faith in God are found in the Old Testament.  I think a lot of people have the idea that the Old Testament is stern and foreboding, all thunder and lightning.  And it’s true that there are verses and events in it which are strange, even contrary, to our modern way of thinking.  Another of these confessions of faith is found in Job 13:15, “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him.”  The third one is the famous, or infamous, I guess, depending on your viewpoint, “sacrifice” of Isaac by his father, Abraham.  I’m working on a post on that one.  It’s grossly and unfairly categorized as a terrible event.

You also need to note that not a single one of these confessions happens when the sun is shining and all is well with the one making the confession.  Job is sitting in the shambles of what’s left of his life, family, possessions and health all gone.  All that’s left is a wife with no sympathy for his integrity.  Habakkuk is looking at the coming destruction and dissolution of his beloved nation.  Abraham is weighing what he’s been asked to do against the promises of God concerning this very son.  I wonder how many of us could echo their sentiments in similar circumstances.

I was reading and thinking about the verses in Habakkuk one morning, and they almost rearranged themselves into verse form.  Here they are.

Though the fig tree may not blossom,

Nor fruit be on the vine.

Though the harvest of the olive fail,

And food be hard to find.

Though the flock may come to nothing

And no oxen in the stall –

Yet I’ll rejoice in Yahweh

My joy, my God, my All.

May God bless it to you as He did to me.

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

