The Heartbeat of a Mother.

I’ve already posted this, I know. Just can’t read a calendar. Mother’s Day is THIS weekend, not last. Posting it again. Have a blessed Mother’s Day, all you moms out there.

nightlightblogdotcom

Since I am only a son, grandson, great-grandson, father and grandfather [no “greats” there, yet], I don’t know that I’m particularly qualified to write about being a mother.  But I’ll do my best.

A young woman once apologetically told me that she didn’t work outside the home, that  she was “just a mother.”  At once, I told her that no woman is ever “just a mother.”

A mother is the first, and perhaps the most important, part of a baby’s life.  One of the very first things he or she must be conscious of is the nearby heartbeat of that one whose very body is involved in nurturing and protecting this new life within it.  Lub-dub, lub-dub, lub-dub.  The rhythm of life.  For nine months, that sound is the background of existence, the assurance that all is normal.

Then comes the trauma of birth – for both the mother…

View original post 257 more words

4 thoughts on “The Heartbeat of a Mother.

  1. Thanks for the re-post.
    I quit my career to become “just a mother.” I was surprised to discover that there’s a stigma that goes with such a decision. People think you weren’t smart enough to make it in the “real” world. If they only knew what it takes to be a stay-at-home mom!
    \o/

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

