WHO is my Shepherd?

Psalm 23 is one of the most beloved of all the Scriptures.  Little children are encouraged to memorize it.  It’s one of the first portions of Scripture I memorized.  Yet I fear all this familiarity, while perhaps not “breeding contempt,” has led to a certain nonchalance concerning it.

The first stanza of the first verse of this Psalm has got to be one of the most mind-boggling verses in Scripture:  The LORD is my shepherd.

The LORD?

is my shepherd?

I’m not questioning it; I’m expressing wonder and amazement.

Wonder and amazement at the idea that Jehovah God, that One Who flung the stars into space and Who has counted and named every single one of their billions; that One Who spoke everything into existence by the mere power of His Word; that One Whose will is instantly followed by multitude of angels; that One to Whom the ages of eternity bow in glad submission: – that One

has taken it upon Himself to be concerned about an insignificant speck of protoplasm on an insignificant mote of dust off to one side of His creation

not just as a casual Observer, but as One Who is my shepherd.

THAT ONE is my shepherd!

5 thoughts on “WHO is my Shepherd?

  1. My husband has been studying this psalm in preparation to teach our bible study group. It’s so rich, and we’ve only been able to look at the 1st verse. Like in your post, we got stuck (in a good way) on just the first two words … “The Lord”. It is wonderful to meditate on the attributes of God. I’ve been wanting to do a post on it, but I don’t think I’ve been able to chew everything through enough to be able to express it in words. 🙂

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

