A Death Bed

As I lay sick upon my bed
I heard them say, “In danger.”
The word seemed very strange to me;
Could any word seem stranger?

“In danger” of escape from sin,
Forever and forever?
Of entering that most holy place
Where evil enterest never?

“In danger” of beholding Him,
Who is my soul’s salvation,
Whose promises sustain my soul
In blest anticipation?

“In danger” of soon shaking off
Earth’s last remaining fetter,
And of departing hence to be
With Christ, which is far better?

It is a solemn thing to die,
To face the King Immortal;
And each forgiven sinner should
Tread softly o’er the portal.

But when we have confessed our sins
To Him who can discern them,
And God has given pardon, peace,
Tho’ we could ne’er deserve them,

Then dying is no dangerous thing;
Safe in the Saviour’s keeping,
The ransomed one is gently led
Beyond the reach of weeping.

– ย Martha Snell Nicholson

16 thoughts on “A Death Bed

    • Thank you so much. I’ve decided not to accept any awards, except one, which I’m working on. It’s too easy for me to get wrapped up in such things and I want the blog to glorify God, not myself. See my post “…to be seen of men,” for some more on this.

      But thank you again, also for the comment, from the bottom of my heart. I’m humbled that you would do this for me.

      God’s best to you.

  1. Reblogged this on Lessons by Heart and commented:
    Perspective is everything. As believers, we have the hope of a fantastic forever. “In danger” has lost its ability to frighten us.

    Enjoy this post from our brother, and be sure to check out his blog. He has many fantastic articles! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Father’s Day!

    \o/
    Praise Jesus!

  2. Mmm. I look forward to the day when this mortality is swallowed up…by LIFE! Beam me up, Lord!

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful description of the fallacy of death being “Game Over!” For those of us who know Jesus, it’s only the beginning. ๐Ÿ™‚

    \o/

    • What! All my posts aren’t “keepers”? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Seriously, you’re right. I was interested to discover one day that the first occurrence of the word “peace” was in connection with Abraham’s death, Genesis 15:15. The world wants to live in peace. It’s much more important to be able to die in peace.

      • Von, I agree since our life is but a vapor anyways.

        Yes, dear friend, your posts are all keepers. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I meant that the poem was also a keeper. As I am sure that your dear wife thinks of you as a keeper too. One of my girlfriends calls our husbands “keepers” because they are good-willed men… as are you!

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

