A Time to Weep; A Time to Laugh

A time to weep; a time to laugh, Ecclesiastes 3:4.

There was, and perhaps still is, a popular conservative radio program.  I really don’t know because I don’t listen to the radio, and haven’t for several years.  I prefer silence to the inane yammerings and what passes for music in our time on the radio, even much of “Christian” radio.

I used to drive for a living and did listen to the radio, including the program mentioned above.  In fact, I could have listened to the final hour of this program three times.  Once was enough.  This was during the time of the Clinton administration and the troubles he had in the Oval Office.  This particular program delighted in making fun of the various things reported in the news, troubles and policies alike.  I’ll admit, some of the things were cleverly done and someone spent a lot of time dreaming them up and producing them.  Still, I eventually got tired of them and turned the radio off.

The thing is, even then I recognized that the program was wrong.  Make no mistake, I am conservative, politically and religiously.  I have no use for the liberal tendency to rewrite history and to destroy the things which made this country [US] great.  We’re not perfect, by any means, but we don’t have to build walls to keep people in.  And I’m not perfect, either.  You’d only have to talk to my wife to find that out.

But “laughter” isn’t the proper response to sin.

Ezekiel lived in a similar time.  Granted, he didn’t have radio or television or the internet,  but it was still a time of great wickedness.  Early in his ministry, he saw a vision in which God told some angels to “Go through the midst of the city, through the midst of Jerusalem, and put a mark on the foreheads of the men who sigh and cry over all the abominations that are done within it,” Ezekiel 9:4 (NKJV).

True, these men would later be spared from the judgment which, in the vision, befell the city, but that’s not what I’m thinking about here.  God was looking for people who did not make light of the terrible situation of their times, but who “sighed and cried” over it.

Can I make the application to today and the world in which we live?  Things are happening which would have been unimaginable in my youth.  I’m on Facebook, write a blog, spend some time on “yahoo answers,” but seldom do I see any real concern for the moral and spiritual cesspool this world has become.  Granted, my view is limited.  But I see jokes and cartoons and off-color or worse remarks and ridicule and scorn for what our spiritual ancestors suffered and died for to pass along to us.  This says nothing about the sacrifices of life and limb young men and women have given to protect our “freedom”.

Where are those who “sigh and cry for the abominations” championed and highlighted and promoted in our society?  Where are those who are heartbroken over what has happened to our country and our world?  The desolation and damnation at the end of that road – that broad road that leads to destruction?

I know such folks are out there.  Their voices just aren’t being heard in the din and depravity of our time.

This is a time to weep, not to laugh.

4 thoughts on “A Time to Weep; A Time to Laugh

  1. I’m not sure which grieves me more – the laughter over sin or the blatant disrespect of government officials. We are told very clearly in the Word that we should not do this. It was GOD who chose our leaders – despite what we may think about our voting power. To rail against our president and others is to rail against God. That never goes well, as I have learned!

    Thanks for this excellent post.

    (How are things in your corner of the world, I trust you and your family are doing well.:))

    \o/

    • We’re doing well; thank you for asking.
      I agree that the president is there because God wants him there. At the same time, he is there as a result of voting, not in spite of it. The votes of those who like him were the means God used to put him in the White House. As a nation, we’re pretty much getting what we deserve.
      This all goes back to what I wrote in my post on “God’s Will, My Will, Whose Will?”

  2. So true. I think that it comes from a lack of mourning of our own sin that blinds us to the abominations that surround us. In today’s society, people have forgotten to mourn.

    Matt 5:4 Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

    Matthew Henry’s Commentary:
    Those are God’s mourners, who live a life of repentance, who lament the corruption of their nature, and their many actual transgressions, and God’s withdrawings from them; and who, out of regard to God’s honour, mourn also for the sins of others, and sigh and cry for their abominations, Eze_9:4. A sympathizing mourning for the afflictions of others; the mourning of those who weep with them that weep, are sorrowful for the solemn assemblies, for the desolations of Zion (Zep_3:18; Psa_137:1), especially who look with compassion on perishing souls, and weep over them, as Christ over Jerusalem.

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

