A Mother’s Occupation

LOVE this. No woman is ever “just” a mother!

Morning Story and Dilbert

A woman named Emily renewing her driver’s licence at the Transport office was asked by the clerk to state her occupation. She hesitated, uncertain how to classify herself. “What I mean is,” explained the clerk, “do you have a job, or are you just a ……? “Of course I have a job,” snapped Emily. “I’m a Mum.” “We don’t list ‘Mum’ as an occupation…… ‘housewife’ covers it,” said the clerk emphatically.

I forgot all about her story until one day I found myself in the same situation, this time at our local police station. The Clerk was obviously a career woman, poised, efficient, and possessed of a high sounding title like, “Official Interrogator” or “Town Registrar.” “What is your occupation?” she probed. What made me say it, I do not know…

The words simply popped out.”I’m a Research Associate in the field of Child Development and Human Relations.” The clerk…

View original post 325 more words

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

