A Plan for Getting Things Done

NOTE:  George Muller of Bristol [England] (1805-1898), was a Christian evangelist, writer and founder of a number of orphanages and schools.  He is said to have helped more than 10,000 orphans in these orphanages,and the 117 schools he founded taught 120,000 children from a Christian standpoint.

He was noted as a man of faith and believed God was more than able to meet any need that might rise in His service or in the life of a faithful Christian.  He would not and did not ever tell anyone if there were a need in any of the ministries.  He is sometime faulted by modern preachers who see nothing wrong with this practice, but he saw wonderful answers to prayer throughout his life – sharp trials as well, to be sure, but the answers were all the more wonderful.

The following is what he had to say about getting things done:

“The first three years after conversion I neglected the Word of God.  Since I began to search it diligently, the blessing has been wonderful.  I have read the Bible one hundred times and always with increasing delight.  I look upon it as a lost day when I have not had a good time over the Word of God.  Friends often say, ‘I have so much to do, so many people to see, I cannot find time for Scripture study.’

“Perhaps there are not many who have more to do than I do.  For more than half a century I have never known one day when I had not more business than I could get through.  For 40 years I have had annually about 30,000 letters, and most of these have passed through my own hands.  I have nine assistants always at work corresponding in German, French, English, Danish, Italian, Russian and other languages.

“Then, as pastor of a church with 1,200 believers, great has been my care.  Besides, I have had charge of five immense orphanages; also, at my publishing depot, the printing and circulation of millions of tracts, books and Bibles.  But I have always made it a rule never to begin work till I have had a good season with God.  The vigor of our spiritual life will be in exact proportion to the place held by the Word in our life and thoughts.” 

4 thoughts on “A Plan for Getting Things Done

  1. Thank you for the reminder of this great man of faith. I often think of his secret prayers that brought provision to so many when I hear modern day pleas for funding of faith (?) based organizations.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. George Muller was instrumental in teaching me about the importance of “believing” prayers…the belief that if I was praying according to God’s will, the answer was “yes” and I could thank God for His response, rather than beg and plead for what God had already promised. That was revolutionary to my prayer life.

    I was recently blessed with a first edition copy of George’s biography. I can’t wait to get some time to read it! What a remarkable man he was!

    \o/

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

