“Can’t Get No Satisfaction”

This remnant of an old song by the Rolling Stones floats to the surface of my mind every so often.  I have no idea why.  I’ve never been their fan, nor do I like the kind of music it represents.  Nevertheless, there it is.

This morning it surfaced again as I was reading Jeremiah 31:14, where God prophesies of a time for Israel that “My people shall be satisfied with My goodness,” says the LORD.  

It’s a common practice to view Old Testament prophecies for Israel as having been fulfilled in the Church because God’s done with Israel. Such a viewpoint really isn’t the focus of this post, but it seems to me that portions like Jeremiah 30-34 are stripped of any meaning if they’re interpreted like that.  Nor will it do to dismiss that portion as having been fulfilled by the Return from Babylon.  Ezra, Nehemiah, and Malachi indicate otherwise.

There are many references to  “satisfaction” in the Old Testament, but I’m thinking of Psalm 17:15, where David wrote, I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness. 

The reason that the Rolling Stones, like so many others, couldn’t, and can’t, find any satisfaction was because theyre looking for the wrong thing in the wrong place.

 

One thought on ““Can’t Get No Satisfaction”

  1. Pingback: "Can't Get No Satisfaction" | Christians Anonymous

Comments? Feedback? Much appreciated. Thanks.

